Society History

The Society was founded on 31st October 1936, and originally named ‘The Russian Study Circle’. The founder President was Dr A H Wortman, FRPS, who continued to be a member of the Executive Committee until his death in January 1983

It aims were defined as the study of the postage stamps and postal history of Russia (past and present), including the various independent republics set up between the Revolution and the formation of the USSR, Poland, Finland and the Baltic States. It sought to draw together the collectors of this material resident in Great Britain who were then comparatively few. The field of study has expanded, moreover, to include the new republics, Mongolia and Tuva, as well as revenue and other ‘Cinderella material over the whole area.